Parry: Piano Music


Richard Deering piano

HTGCD 140-1 – 506033266297

2 CDs (two for the price of one)

Heritage presents a 2 CD set of the piano music of Charles Hubert Parry including both piano sonatas of 1876, the Charakterbilder of 1872 and a rarity, his Five Miniatures which were published posthumously in 1926. Remarkably, the sonatas have only been recorded once before and on Parry’s original piano (long deleted) so Richard Deering’s brand new performances present an opportunity to hear these works performed on a modern Steinway Model D for the very first time.

Sonata No.1 in F Major

  1. Non troppo allegro
  2. Allegro molto scherzando
  3. Andante
  4. Andante - Allegretto

Charakterbilder (Seven Ages of Mind)

  1. Prelude (Andantino)    
  2. Con energia   
  3. Con moto   
  4. Allegro
  5. Espressivo
  6. Allegro energetico  attacca
  7. Adagio con sentimento

Sonata No.2 in A Minor

  1. Maestoso – Allegro grazioso
  2. Adagio con sentimento
  3. Scherzo
  4. Allegretto

Five Miniatures

  1. Sleepy
  2. A Little Christmas Piece
  3. Capriccio
  4. Pause
  5. Envoi


  1. admin

    Of Charakterbilder: ‘Deering is at his best in the slower, lyrical movements and the euphonious episodes of the quicker ones.’ Jeremy Dibble, Gramophone Awards Issue 2023

  2. admin

    Of Piano Sonata No. 2: ‘Deering seems most at home in the more poetic second and fourth movements……..where there is more shape and space for nuance.’ Jeremy Dibble, Gramophone Awards Issue 2023

  3. admin

    ‘This extremely valuable and enjoyable disc’ Chris Rice, Records International

  4. admin

    ‘Parry was still in the process of finding his own voice……….. when writing this music, which should not detract from the technical finish and emotional warmth in much of what is heard here. It helps that Richard Deering brings out its salient qualities through playing responsive to the composer’s idiomatic if stylistically undemanding pianism, as rendered on a Steinway D which clarifies a preponderance of ‘middle range’ keyboard sonorities and passagework.’ Richard Whitehouse Arcana.FM

  5. admin

    ‘A valuable pendant to the recent recording of Prometheus Unbound, this disc greatly helps us further appreciate the full range of Parry’s achievements.’ Kevin Mandry, British Music Society

  6. admin

    ‘This is a splendid new release of Charles Hubert Hastings Parry’s piano music. Richard Deering brings consummate skill to these varied works. He assimilates the influences of earlier composers with Parry’s personal skill, and creates a satisfying whole. The recording is outstanding, as is the CD documentation. I look forward to the subsequent issues on the Heritage label.’ John France, MusicWeb International

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.