J S Bach Works for Harpsichord


George Malcolm

HTGCD247 – 0506033266012

Harpsichordist, George Malcolm, performs Bach’s Chromatic Fantasia and Fugue, The Italian Concerto, Toccata in D major, The Fifth French Suite and the concertos for three and four harpsichords. He collaborates with Eileen Joyce, Thurston Dart, Denis Vaughan and the Pro Arte Orchestra conducted by Boris Ord. There are precious few recordings of Malcolm available in today’s market and this issue is a testimony to the high regard in which he was held throughout the 1950s, 60s and beyond.

    1. Chromatic Fantasia and Fugue in D minor BWV 903

Italian Concerto (BWV 971)

    1. 1st movement
    2. 2nd movement (Andante)
    3. 3rd movement (Presto)
    4. Toccata in D major (BWV 912)

French Suite No. 5 in G major (BWV 816)

    1. Allemande
    2. Courante
    3. Sarabande
    4. Gavotte
    5. Bourree
    6. Loure
    7. Gigue

Concerto for Three Harpsichords in C major BWV 1064

    1. Allegro
    2. Adagio
    3. Allegro

Concerto for Four Harpsichords in A minor BWV 1065 (after Vivaldi)

  1. Allegro
  2. Largo
  3. Allegro Vivace

Tracks 1-12 - George Malcolm Recordings first published in 1961
Tracks 13-18 - George Malcolm, Eileen Joyce, Thurston Dart, Denis Vaughan, Pro Arte Orchestra, Boris Ord
Recordings first published in 1957


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.