The Art of Noel-Mewton Wood


HTGCD269 – 5060332660667

That the Australian Mewton-Wood was one of the greatest of all pianists was an almost universal opinion of his Protean genius. He died, tragically, in 1953, at the early age of 35. His recorded legacy is desperately small; these rare wartime solo recordings appear on CD for the first time. The works by Schubert and Beethoven feature two of Mewton- Wood’s frequent collaborators, Peter Pears and Dennis Brain, and are taken from a BBC recital broadcast in his final year.


Sonata No. 1 in C, Op. 24

  1. Allegro 8’08’’
  2. Adagio 5’42’’
  3. Menuetto 7’14’’
  4. Rondo Presto 4’03’’

(Rec. 1941. Mats. AR 6138-43 all Take I; Decca K1038-41)

Sonata No. 2 in A Flat, Op. 39

  1. Allegro moderato 13’03’’
  2. Andante 5’12’’
  3. Minuetto Capricciosa 3’21’’
  4. Rondo Moderato   4’53’’

(Rec. 1941. Mats. AR 5868-74 all Take I; Decca K1061-64)


  1. Tarantella in A Flat, Op. 43   3’04’’

(Rec. 1941. Mat. AR 5875-1; Decca K 1061-64)


  1. Auf dem Strom   8’19’’

Peter Pears (tenor), Dennis Brain (horn), Noel Mewton-Wood (piano)


  1. An die ferne Geliebte   14’18’’

Peter Pears (tenor), Noel Mewton-Wood (piano)

(Tracks 10 and 11 - recorded 28/01/53 from a recital by the BBC)

Total time:   77 minutes 23 seconds

Produced and transferred by Roger Beardsley.


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.