Music of the Four Realms


Royal Scottish National Orchestra; Sir Alexander Gibson/Philharmonia Orchestra; George Weldon/Sinfonia of London; Robert Irving; Douglas Gamley; Arthur Bliss/Scottish Baroque Ensemble; Leonard Friedman/City of Prague Philharmonic Orchestra/Antony Askew

HTGCD 169 – 5060332662531

1 CD

Heritage presents vintage recordings of twentieth century British music, taken from the collection of Philip Lane, featuring a number of works that are not currently available in the catalogue: Don Banks’s Elizabethan Miniatures, Iain Hamilton’s Scottish Dances and Malcolm Williamson’s Six English Lyrics. These are paired with more familiar works by Malcolm Arnold, William Walton, Hamilton Harty, Thomas Arne and Henry Purcell (in twentieth century arrangements).

Sir Malcolm Arnold (1921-2006): Scottish Dances, Op.59

Don Banks (1923-80): Elizabethan Miniatures (b)

Sir Arthur Sullivan (1842-1900): Dance of the Nymphs and Reapers (from The Tempest)

Thomas Arne (1710-88)/Douglas Gamley (1924-98): Blow, blow thou winter wind

Sir William Walton (1902-83): Two Pieces from Henry V & Orb and Sceptre 

 Iain Hamilton (1922-2000): Scottish Dances, Op.32

Welsh Traditional/George Weldon (1908-63): Suo-gan

Sir Hamilton Harty (1879-1941): The Fair Day (from An Irish Symphony)

Malcolm Williamson (1931-2003): Six English Lyrics

Henry Purcell (1659-95)/Peter Hope (b.1930): Lilliburlero

Henry Purcell (1659-95)/Arthur Bliss (1891-1975): Set of Act-Tunes and Dances


  1. admin

    ‘This is a delightful exploration of favourite and forgotten British music culled from the Four Realms of the still-United Kingdom. It is performed by a variety of accomplished orchestras, conductors and soloists.’
    John France MusicWeb International

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.