Havergal Brian: ‘In Memoriam’ & Gothic Symphony Part One


New Philharmonia Orchestra/Sir Charles Groves

HTGCD 172 – 5060332662470

1 CD

This recording from 1976, licensed from the BBC, formed part of the centenary celebrations of Havergal Brian’s birth, a series of four concerts curated by Robert Simpson. Featured here is the last of these concerts given by the New Philharmonia Orchestra and Sir Charles Groves. In association with the Havergal Brian Society, Heritage is delighted to make this recording available once again. Particularly notable is the excellent performance of ‘In Memoriam’ which is coupled with a spirited rendition of the first part of the Gothic Symphony.


  2. Allegro assai
  3. Lento espressivo e solenne
  4. Vivace


  1. admin

    ‘This fiery, controlled, unsparing and dramatic reading is one to hear……. It’s high voltage stuff. ….. I think that if you care about Brian you owe it to yourself to hear this disc.’ Jonathan Woolf Music Web International

  2. admin

    ‘Groves’s In Memoriam is preferable……..There is no other version of the Gothic’s Part One, in which Groves’s trenchant advocacy vindicates the decision.’ Richard Whitehouse Arcana FM

  3. admin

    ‘Charles Groves pacing is masterly, the playing of the New Philharmonia unlikely to be bettered.’
    Gramophone of In Memoriam

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.