The Art of Lionel Tertis


HTGCD261 – 5060332660506

Lionel Tertis performed for his instrument the service that Casals did for his: that of raising it from the obscurity of orchestral rank-and-file to respected solo status. The present re-issue offers four of his most important recording including the Bax Sonata, written for Tertis, accompanied by the composer.

Categories: ,


  1. Bach: Chaconne (from Partita in D minor for solo Violin, BWV1004, transcribed for the viola by Tertis) 14.31

      (Recorded in London, 25 November 1924; AX-755/8, L-1644/5)

    Brahms: Sonata in F minor for Viola and Piano, Op. 120 No. 1

  1. Allegro appassionato – Sostenuto ed espressivo. 7.38
  2. Andante un poco adagio. 5.17
  3. Allegretto grazioso. 4.22
  4. Vivace.4.57 with Harriet Cohen, piano

      (Recorded in London, 17 February 1933; CAX-6704/9, LX-225/7)

    Delius: Sonata No. 2 for Violin and Piano (transcribed for the viola by Tertis)
  1. Con moto – Lento – Molto vivace.  11.35 with George Reeves, piano

      (Recorded in London, 7 October 1929; WAX-5193/5, L-2342/3)

Bax: Sonata for Viola and Piano
  1. Molto moderato – Allegro.  7.51
  2. Allegro energico, ma non troppo presto.  5.45
  3. Molto lento  6.35 with Arnold Bax, piano

      (Recorded In London, 27 May 1929; WAX-4949/54, unpublished in 78 rpm form, first published on LP, Pearl GEMM-201)

  Total time: 68’29’’

  Records from the collections of Lillian Tertis, R.L. Edwards and Harry Danks. Transcriptions effected by Charles Levin.


  1. admin

    ‘Tertis’s portamentos all feel right, the richness of his tone is extraordinary, and Cohen’s accompaniment is passionate and eloquent … Such is the quality of this performance [Delius’s Violin Sonata No. 2] that I would struggle to think of a recording of the original version that is more persuasive.’
    Nigel Simeone, International Record Review, December 2014

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.