Silent Conversations – Reimagining Sacred Chants


Christopher Hawkins (piano), David Milsom (violin), Liz Hanks (cello), Mark Taylor (guitar)

HTGCD 193 – 5060332661794

‘Silent Conversations’, conceived by Christopher Hawkins, is an album which presents a fresh approach to the sound world of ancient chanting, a genre renowned for its timeless and contemplative beauty.

Christopher poses the question – ‘What remains, when the words of the chants are hidden?’

Drawing on professional forces from his native Sheffield, Christopher recorded a selection of well-known and lesser-known chants over a period of two years. The result is a unique set of 25 arrangements for instrumental forces – some are simple, unembellished solo arrangements for piano, violin, cello and classical guitar and others are more complex re-workings for chamber ensemble.

‘Silent Conversations’ presents the listener with an opportunity to experience a centuries-old tradition from a completely different perspective.

Categories: ,
  1. More Than This
  2. Into The Hills
  3. Shimmering Water
  4. In The Shadow
  5. The Night Watch
  6. Final Farewell
  7. In Paradisum
  8. Lost In Wasteland
  9. The Stranger
  10. With Dragging Feet
  11. Veiled In Mist
  12. At The Summit
  13. Antiphon
  14. Land Of Silence
  15. The Embrace
  16. Silent Conversations
  17. Glistening Town
  18. All That I Am
  19. O Rubor Sanguinis
  20. Stay
  21. Looking Out
  22. Cry Of The Soul


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.