you're reading...

Heritage Choral

Britten Conducts Britten

HTGCD232 – 5013993891895

Britten’s original recordings of his most popular choral works, A Ceremony of Carols, A Boy was Born and Rejoice in the Lamb, have long since fallen out of the catalogue and Heritage is pleased to rectify this with the latest release in its Composer-Conductor series.

65 minutes

Track Listing

A Ceremony of Carols Op. 28

  1. Procession
  2. Wolcum Yole!
  3. There is no rose
  4. That yonge child
  5. Balulalow
  6. As dew in Aprille
  7. This little Babe
  8. Interlude
  9. In freezing winter night
  10. Spring Carol
  11. Deo gracias – Adam lay ibounden
  12. Recession

Copenhagen Boys’ Choir

Mogens Woldike (choir master)

Enid Simon (harp)

Benjamin Britten

Recorded in 1953
A Boy was Born Op. 3

  1. A Boy was Born (theme)
  2. Variation I: Lullay, Jesu
  3. Variation II: Herod
  4. Variation III: Jesu, as Thou art our Saviour
  5. Variation IV: The Three Kings
  6. Variation V: in the bleak mid-winter
  7. Variation VI: Finale – Noel!

Michael Hartnett (treble)

Purcell Singers

Boys’ Voices of the English Opera Group

Choristers of All Saints, Margaret Street

Benjamin Britten

Recorded in 1957
Rejoice in the Lamb, Op. 30

  1. Rejoice in God, O ye Tongues
  2. For I will consider my cat Jeoffrey
  3. For the mouse is a creature of great personal valour
  4. For the flowers are great blessings
  5. For I am under the same accusation with my Saviour
  6. For H is a spirit and therefore he is God

George Malcolm (organ)

The Purcell Singers

Benjamin Britten

Recorded in 1957