Holst: The Planets, The Perfect Fool, Bax: Tintagel


London Philharmonic Orchestra, Adrian Boult

HTGCD233 – 5013993893493

Heritage presents vintage Boult performances of Holst and Bax, transferred from vinyl with extraordinary results by former EMI engineer Gary Moore. The 1954 recording of The Planets comes from a Nixa LP (NPL 903) and The Perfect Fool and Tintagel were recorded a year later for Decca (LXT 5015).

The Planets Suite H125

  1. Mars, The Bringer of War (Allegro)
  2. Venus, The Bringer of Peace (Adagio)
  3. Mercury, The Winged Messanger (Vivace)
  4. Jupiter, The Bringer of Jollity (Allegro giocoso)
  5. Saturn, The Bringer of Old Age (Adagio)
  6. Uranus, The Magician (Allegro)
  7. Neptune, The Mystic (Andante)
  8. The Perfect Fool H150, Op. 39
  9. Bax: Tintagel

London Philharmonic Orchestra, Sir Adrian Boult (conductor)
Tracks 1-7 recorded in 1954 in Walthamstow Town Hall (NIXA NPL 903)
Tracks 8-9 recorded in 1955 in Kingsway Hall, London (Decca LXT 5015)
Transfer: Gary Moore


  1. admin

    ‘This new Heritage transfer… is impressive by any standards… the transfers from LP are excellent.’
    International Record Review, November 2012

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.