Beethoven: Symphony No. 3, Op. 55 ‘Eroica’, ‘Eroica’ Variations, Op. 35


Westdeutsche Sinfonia, Dirk Joeres (conductor)
Dirk Joeres (piano)

HTGCD BT 2 – 5060332661862


Heritage Records presents the second volume of the Joeres Beethoven cycle, featuring the third symphony ‘Eroica’. Uniquely, the symphony is coupled with the ‘Eroica’ Variations for solo piano, played by Dirk Joeres. The CD is accompanied by a specially conceived DVD, in which the conductor illustrates Beethoven’s compositional genius, performing excerpts on the piano and commenting on snippets from the new recordings.

‘What is it that still fascinates us about Beethoven’s Symphonies two hundred years after they were written? What is it that makes them still so special today? With this video, I would like to take you on a journey into Beethoven’s musical world. To do this it is necessary to discover a little about his compositional techniques. I believe that the more one knows, the more one hears and enjoys and so this series “Beethoven Today” is intended for both experienced listeners and for people who perhaps want to explore Beethoven’s music for the first time.’ © 2016 Dirk Joeres


1-4: Symphony No. 3; 5: ‘Eroica’ Variations for solo piano


  1. admin

    ‘This production offers more than yet another recording of Beethoven’s Third Symphony… what makes this release so special is a bonus DVD on which Dirk Joeres gives an introduction to the Symphony with examples at the piano or with the orchestra. …It is desirable that this project will be continued.’
    – Das Orchester, July 2018

  2. admin

    ‘The Westdeutsche Sinfonia’s Eroica is supple, cultured and wonderfully alert. In the Eroica Variations, Dirk Joeres proves an imaginative performer being able to contrast the variations in an exciting manner.’
    – Pizzicato, June 2018

  3. admin

    ‘The recording is excellent. This is a really good value package from Heritage and it deserves every success.’
    – John Whitmore, MusicWeb International

  4. admin

    ‘This is an attractively differentiated interpretation of the ‘Eroica’ Symphony… Joeres’ Beethoven is a Beethoven for our times, vivacious and exciting.’
    – Remy Franck, May 2018

  5. admin

    ‘In the DVD we see Dirk Joeres at the piano, as he analyses the ‘Eroica’ by all rules of the art. One hears sketches, one experiences the work in progress, interconnections are made clear. Dirk Joeres is the ideal person to get music across, equipped with an extraordinary communicative talent. He does this in such a way that both experienced listeners profit from it and also newcomers. Not many people achieve this.’
    – Daniel Finkernagel, West German Radio Cologne May 2018

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.