you're reading...

Heritage Orchestral

Schumann Orchestral Works

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Dirk JoeresSchumann Orchestral Works

HTGCD272 – 5060332660735

Dirk Joeres conducts the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra in highly regarded recordings of orchestral music by Robert Schumann. The Joeres reading of the third symphony, ‘Rhenish’, received Pizzicato’s ‘Supersonic Award’ and the Tchaikovsky orchestrated Symphonic Studies, Op. 13 was the first committed to disc. The recordings were made between 1993 and 1999 in Walthamstow and Watford Town Halls.

‘A weighty opening for the Rhenish is counterbalanced by a light and wonderfully exhilarating Finale. The rarely heard Tchaikovsky orchestration of the Symphonic Etudes is a delight.’
– Erik Levi, BBC Music Magazine, December 2014

‘He [Joeres] has something fresh and nutritious to say … this is a Rhenish to get you hot under the collar … His is an unreconstructed romantic lean-meat hothouse reading … It is easy to spend superlatives on Joeres’ indomitable leaping dynamics but he does not neglect the more pulse-calming writing as in the pastoral idylls of Nicht schnell and the dark-clouded Feierlich, itself redolent of Brahms’ Tragic Overture. After the Symphony comes an equally edgy and Manfred-style Overture, Scherzo and Finale. This too has no truck with routine baton-waving. There’s as much gallop, surge, spring, resilience and solar plexus impact as in the Symphony. The RPO horns revel in their opportunities which come especially in the outer movements of the Rhenish as well as in the Symphony’s Scherzo. They register in satisfying focus without being drenched in Hollywood spotlighting … [Heritage] have done a lot of highly desirable reissue work that is well worth chasing down.’
– Rob Barnett, Music Web International, 9th September 2014

‘Joeres is an exciting Schumann conductor and he goes for extremes’
– Gramophone

‘An exultant reading – one of the best recordings’
– Musicweb International

‘An exemplary ‘Rhenish’ – a reference recording’
– Pizzicato Supersonic Award

‘Here is a disc with a difference….. Dirk Joeres easily joins the front rank.’
– Fanfare

Track Listing

Symphony No. 3, Op. 97 ‘Rhenish’

  1. Lebhaft  9.30
  2. Scherzo: Sehr mäßig  6.08
  3. Nicht schnell  5.43
  4. Feierlich  6.24
  5. Lebhaft  5.37

Overture, Scherzo and Finale, Op. 52

  1. Overture (Andante con moto)   6.45
  2. Scherzo (Vivo)  4.21
  3. Finale (Allegro molto vivace)   6.53

Symphonic Studies, Op. 13 (orchestrated by Tchaikovsky)

  1. Adagio  1.54
  2. Allegro brilliante    6.10

Total time:   60.00

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, Dirk Joeres (conductor)