you're reading...

Heritage Brass and Wind

Man O’Brass – Harry Mortimer

Harry Mortimer

HTGCD235 – 5013993893691

Harry Mortimer’s name is synonymous with the brass band movement and he was hugely responsible for bringing its music to a larger audience. He achieved this, in particular, through the many concerts and tours he made with his massed bands. Tragically, there are very few Mortimer CDs available today and this Heritage release, featuring three of his ensembles, attempts to redress the balance. Tracks include the William Tell Overture, Prince of Denmark’s March, March from Scipio and many more.

65 minutes

Track Listing
  1. Clarke arr. Gay:  Prince of Denmark’s March
  2. Handel arr. Mortimer: Largo
  3. Mozart arr. Mortimer: Alleluia
  4. Bach-Gounod arr. Siebert: Ave Maria
  5. Handel arr. Siebert: March from Scipio
  6. Handel: March from Berenice
  7. Meyerbeer arr. Siebert: Coronation March ‘Le Prophete’
  8. Sullivan arr. Seymour: The Long Day Closes
  9. Dykes arr. Siebert: Praise to the Holiest
  10. Barsotti: Sundown
  11. Fonteyn: Music for a Pageant
  12. Ancliffe: Nights of Gladness
  13. Traditional arr. Seymour: Three Negro Spirituals
  14. A. Langford: Heritage
  15. J. Shakespeare: Journey’s End
  16. Watters: Happy Ending
  17. Kelly: Free As Air
  18. Lusher: Jubilee Hoe Down
  19. Traditional arr. Mortimer: All Through the Night
  20. Wood:  Barwick Green
  21. Rossini arr. Seymour: Overture to William Tell
  22. Traditional arr. Hespe: God Save the queen

Tracks 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10, 13, 19 – Cathedral Brass
Tracks 11,12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 20, 22 – The London Brass Players
Track 21 – Men O’ Brass
Producer and Balance Engineer: Brian B. Culverhouse
Recorded in London (1975), Leicester (1978) and Wolverhampton (1968). Digitally re-mastered in 2011.